Skip to content

Skill Building Mallet……..DONE!!!

February 15, 2012

I havent had much time over the past week to work on the mallet, but today my goal was to have it finished. The first thing that needed to be done was to finish sawing off the faces.

With the faces all cut it was finally time to begin shaping the handle. For this job, my plan was to use a rasp and my random orbital sander (ROS). You may notice that there is now a vise in the picture, this was a Christmas gift courtesy of my sister that I finally got around to installing today. Getting that vise installed today was clutch. There is no way I would have been able to easily shape the handle without it!

 The rasp was the work horse, rounding the handle and blending it into the maple faces. I used the ROS upside down in the vise so that I could hold the mallet with two hands and really make the handle as round as possible. It was also at this point that I realized that I needed to do away with the sharp corners. So, I took the rasp to them also! I wasnt planning on making this mallet sculpted, but using the rasp was awesome!

So with everything sanded to 220 and hit with tac cloth I reached for the General Finishes Arm-R-Seal. This is my go to finish because there is no mixing involved and I can wipe it on with a cotton towel which helps me avoid drips.

So, it’s finished and I am super happy with the result and  not so sure I want to use it in the shop. Maybe I should  just keep it here as a decorative piece……..

So remember, if you want to grow your woodworking knowledge, push yourself to try  new things and roll with it!

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Really creative! I totally wouldn’t actually use it…way too valuable unless you made several.

    I love focusing on small projects; makes me more conscious of details.

    • Thanks for reading Bobby! Although this was a small project, your right, it required a high attention to the details. If I build another one, ill definitely use end grain on the faces and probably some white oak. I built this with the idea of actually USING it, but I won’t, its just to pretty. Maybe the next one….

      Thanks again

Leave a Reply

