Skip to content

Foot Ball is over. So what now?

February 7, 2012

So now that the football season is over, what are you planning on doing with your Sunday afternoons? My suggestion, along with everyone else in the woodworking community is to START WOODWORKING! Thats right, this week is the first annual…

Thats right! Tom Iovino from “Tom’s Tips” and htttp://tomsworkbench.com has initiated this annual event to keep the craft of woodworking not just an American tradition, but a Human tradition! Woodworking not only allows you to explore your creative side but it can offer you the opportunity to create something that will outlast you, your children, and maybe, your children’s children. 

You may say to yourself, “But, I don’t own a table saw or any of the other tools that it would take to build anything.”  I have the perfect solution…. give that big family tree of yours a shake by getting in touch with grandparents, aunts,and uncles to see if they have any old tools lying around that they never use. Chances are, if they have some tools and never use them, they will be more than willing to free up some space in their garage and give them a new home with you. It doesn’t take much to get started. I started out with a small mitre saw and a cordless drill. But that didn’t stop me from making my first piece of furniture several years back.

It was a basic step stool that I made for my 2 Yorkies so that they could make it into bed  without waking up myself or my wife every time they jumped off and then tried to climb back on.  This stool was all done with only that cordless drill, mitre saw, and some glue and screws. My wife and I still use this every time we clean the house to reach the ceiling fans or if  she needs to get some Tupperware down from above the microwave.  I will never throw this out, unlike almost everything else that we have accumulated from home centers.  

My mission as a wood worker is to create furniture  that will still be sitting in my great grandchildrens living room with my name etched into the bottom of it long after im 6 feet under.

If you’re looking for the following:

To be challenged

To be creative

To be a part of something that will out last you

To have fun

To see a smile on a family members face

Then its definitely time for you to
GET WOODWORKING!!!!!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. “My mission as a wood worker is to create furniture that will still be sitting in my great grandchildrens living room with my name etched into the bottom of it long after im 6 feet under.”

    I love this line, and agree with it.

Leave a Reply

